contact HGO      +1 613.475.4704

 Home / Article: CHFA names 2019 honourees

CHFA names 2019 honourees

 18 January 2019     Michael J. Knell 

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario – The Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance (CHFA) has named veteran manufacturing executive Daniel Walker as its 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award honouree while presenting this year’s Retail of the Year Award to this country’s 32 independently owned and operated La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. Both will be feted at a gala to be held on the opening night of this year’s Canadian Furniture Show.

“The CHFA established the Lifetime Achievement Award to recognise those individuals who, over their careers, have made exemplary and sustained contributions to the Canadian home furnishings industry,” John Power, chairman of the CHFA’s events committee, said in a statement. “Daniel, his family and forefathers have been part of the Canadian furniture manufacturing world for well over 30 years and has been instrumental in fashion forward in Canadian case good and upholstery design and production techniques.”

Daniel Walker is the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award honouree.Walker is president and chief executive officer of leather upholstery specialist Jaymar, whose factory and head office is located in the Montreal suburb of Terrebonne. He bought the company – was founded in 1956 by Canadian industry icon George Reinitz – in 2014 from the Bermex Group. He was the group’s chief executive officer at the time.

He also served on the Quebec Furniture Manufacturers Association board of directors for 11 years, from 2004 to 2015.

Last year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honouree was Stylus, Made-to-Order Sofas.

“The Retailer of the Year Award is dedicated to recognizing exemplary models of excellence and community services by Canadian furniture businesses,” Power said, in announcing its bestowal on the Canadian arm of La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. “The group of independent Canadian retailers making up this iconic brand has flourished in recent years. Most notably the expansion of its presence in the Greater Toronto Area, now with a total of 12 stores owned and operated by Paul Hogeboom. Their Canadian network has over 32 stand alone locations employing well over 500 Canadians.”

Hogeboom will be accepting the award on behalf of the network, which is part of the retail arm of La-Z-Boy, the publicly-held motion furniture manufacturer based in Monroe, Michigan. The company operates a network of about 300 corporately-owned and licensed stores across North America.

Paul Hogeboom, seen here with wife Heather, will accept the 2019 Retailer of the Year Award on behalf of the 32 La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries stores in Canada.Hogeboom’s store in Burlington, Ontario was ranked at number nine of the top ten best performing La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries stores in 2014. It held the same ranking the prior year and consistently placed in the top ten for a number of years. The Hogebooms were also named La-Z-Boy’s Retailer Partner of the Year in 2011.

Last year, City Furniture & Appliances was named Retailer of the Year for Western Canada. The distinction for Eastern Canada has been awarded to Germain Larivière.

This year’s Canadian Home Furnishings Award gala will return to the Orion ballroom of the International Centre here, which also houses the Canadian Furniture Show. For the past three years, the event had been held at the Universal Event Space.

Instead of being held on the evening before the show opens, this year the gala will close the show’s opening day – Friday, 24 May.

“We have teamed up with the Canadian Furniture Show to better co-ordinate our events to better serve our joint customers,” Power said. “These changes will make it more convenient for the attendees to the awards gala and furniture show.”

The gala will also feature the presentation of the 2019 Retail Sales Professional Awards.

For tickets to attend the gala, or for more information, contact CHFA president Murray Vaughan by telephone at (905) 678-4678 or by e-mail at [email protected].

Related Story: Daniel Walker buys Jaymar
Related Story: La-Z-Boy names Moussa No. 1
Related Story: City, Germain Larivière named 2018 ROY recipients

Sealy Canada
Phoenix AMD
This HGO article was written by:
Michael J. Knell
Michael J. Knell

Michael is the publisher and editor of Home Goods Online. A seasoned business journalist, he has researched and written about the furniture, mattress and major appliance industries in both Canada and the United States for the past three decades.

The HGO Merchandiser
Spring 2022
Spring 2022
Autumn 2021
Autumn 2021
Summer 2021
Summer 2021
Spring 2021
Spring 2021

 View all editions of The HGO Merchandiser.

  About HGO

Home Goods and its accompanying newsletter - HGO This Week - covers the furniture, bedding, appliances, consumer electronics, accessories, lamps and lighting and floor coverings product sectors of the big ticket home goods market in Canada. HGO is also a forum for the dissemination of market research and hard-hitting articles on best practices for Canadian retailers.

  Contact Us
  Home Goods Online

Published by:
Windsor Bay Communications Inc.
P.O. Box 3023; 120 Ontario Street,
Brighton ON Canada K0K 1H0

Tel : 613.475.4704

Fax : 613.475.0829
Mail : contact us